

Georgetown School Committee Thursday, September 9, 2021 Meeting Minutes

51 North Street Georgetown, MA 01833 (978) 352-5777

> Barbie Linares, Chairman Michael Hinchliffe, Vice Chairman Cheryl Lachendro, Clerk Suzanne MacDonald Lauren King

Attendance:

Barbie Linares Michael Hinchliffe Suzanne MacDonald Lauren King Cheryl Lachendro Superintendent Jacobs Suzanne Sutherland Collin MacDonald Jack Tiano Margaret Maher Jeff Carovillano

1. Call to Order:

Barbie Linares called the meeting to order at 6:44PM. GCTV was not able to televise this meeting due to a scheduling conflict.

2. Consent Agenda:

Motion: to approve Warrants #11V22 & #12P22.

Michael Hinchliffe moved the motion. Cheryl Lachendro seconded the motion. Vote taken. All in favor. Motion carried.

3. Audiences:

Joe Pitella - Camp Kieve Discussion

Joe discussed the change with Camp Kieve with their staff chaperoning the students overnight. Carol & Joe sent a survey to parents and they received an overwhelming response of parent volunteers. There was discussion of how things would be addressed with the parents in regards to the rules that need to be followed and what chain of command there would be if there were issues. Parents would have to sign a Confidentiality Agreement to not disclose student information and also would be required to have a CORI check. There will be 5 male & 5 female parent volunteers for this trip.

Motion: to approve the Camp Kieve overnight trip on 11/8-11/12 for Grade 6 as presented by Joe Pitella. Cheryl Lachendro moved the motion. Michael Hinchliffe seconded the motion. Vote taken. All in favor. Motion carried.

4. New Business:

Motion: to approve the Home School List as presented by Jack Tiano. Cheryl Lachendro moved the motion. Michael Hinchliffe seconded the motion. Vote taken. All in favor. Motion carried.

5. Financial Report

Motion: to approve the FY22 Budget Transfers line items 1-65 in the amount of \$432,704.75 as presented by Suzanne Sutherland. Cheryl Lachendro moved the motion. Suzanne MacDonald seconded the motion. Vote taken. All in favor.

6. Old Business:

Discussion regarding the revision of the policy to follow DESE guidelines. **Motion:** to approve the policy revision for the Mask Policy EBCFA with the edits and revisions made during this meeting. Michael Hinchliffe moved the motion. Cheryl Lachendro seconded the motion. Vote takes. All in favor. Motion carried.

7. School Committee Reorganization: (Votes taken for all at the end)

Motion: to appoint Barbie Linares as the Chair for the School Committee for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Michael Hinchliffe as the Vice Chair for the School Committee for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Cheryl Lachendro as the Clerk for the School Committee for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Cheryl Lachendro to the Safety Sub-Committee and Michael Hinchliffe as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Barbie Linares & Michael Hinchliffe to the Negotiations Sub-Committee and Cheryl Lachendro as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Michael Hinchliffe & Cheryl Lachendro to the Budget & Finance Sub-Committee and Suzanne MacDonald as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year **2022-2023**.

Motion: to appoint Lauren King and Suzanne MacDonald to the Governance Sub-Committee and Barbie Linares as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Suzanne MacDonald and Lauren King to the Superintendent's Goals Sub-Committee with Barbie Linares as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Suzanne MacDonald and Lauren King to the Public Relations Sub-Committee with Cheryl Lachendro as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Cheryl Lachendro as the SEPAC Liason for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Barbie Linares as the PTA Liaison for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Michael Hinchliffe as the Legislative Liason for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Jack Tiano as the Homeless Liaison for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Jack Tiano as the Title II Compliance Coordinator for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Suzanne Sutherland as the Title VI Compliance Coordinator for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Suzanne Sutherland as the Title IX Compliance Coordinator for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Suzanne Sutherland and Jack Tiano as the Sexual Harassment Hearing Officer for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Julia Robinson & Hope Doran as the 504 Coordinators for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year 2022-2023.

Motion: to appoint Dr. William Medwid as the School Physician for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year.

Motion: to appoint Tracy Parker as the School Committee Secretary for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year.

Motion: to appoint Cheryl Lachendro for the Payroll Warrant Signature for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year.

Motion: to appoint Lauren King and Barbie Linares for the Vendor Warrant Signature with Michael Hinchliffe as the alternate for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year.

Motion: to appoint Greg Pagnini from the Law Firm of Brody, Hardoon, Perkins & Kesten, as the School Committee Legal Counsel for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year.

Motion: to appoint Carol Jacobs as the Crest Representative for the 2021-2022 school year ending with the first meeting of the new school year.

Michael Hinchliffe moved all of the above motions. Cheryl Lachendro seconded all the motions. Vote taken, all in favor. Motions carried.

8. **Adjourn:**

Motion: to adjourn the meeting at 8:26PM to go into Executive Session, Chapter 30A Section 21. Cheryl Lachendro moved the motion. Suzanne MacDonald seconded the motion. Vote taken. All in favor. Motion carried.